Rest of the world

13 December 2022

Holders of undergraduate degrees from universities outside the European Higher Education Area are eligible for admission into a master’s program, without requiring homologation of their degree, but following verification by the UMH that such degree represents an educational level that is equivalent to the corresponding accredited Spanish undergraduate degree, and that it entitles access to graduate education within the issuing country. Admission this way does not entail, under any circumstance, homologation of the degree the interested party holds, or its recognition for anything besides acceptance into a master’s program.

Furthermore, the following requirements must also be met:

1. Authentication

Information regarding the authentication process must be facilitated by the university of origin, the competent authorities, or by the consular services in the document’s country of origin.

The procedures required for authentication vary depending upon the education’s country of origin, and whether an applicable international agreement exists.

The authentication procedures are the following:

Signatory countries of the Hague Convention:

Apostille: This consists in one signatory country’s competent authorities recognizing the signatures of academic authorities from all other signatory countries.

The Apostille must appear on the original document.

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cape Verde, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Georgia, Grenada, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Liberia, Macao, Malawi, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Namibia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe, Seychelles, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

Countries that have signed the Andrés Bello Agreement (Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, and Venezuela) and other countries:

University qualifications must be authenticated diplomatically, and for such, the documentation must be presented at:

  1. The ministry of education of the country of origin to recognize the signatures that appear on the original document.
  2. The ministry of foreign affairs of the country of origin to authenticate the recognition of the signatures carried out at the ministry of education.
  3. The Spanish Consulate in the country of origin to recognize the signature of the preceding authentication.


1. Translation

Documents not issued in Spanish must be presented accompanied by their corresponding official translation to Spanish. (Documentation in English is accepted.)

For documents that must be authenticated, the official translation thereof must take place subsequent to the authentication procedure, and the official translation must include the signature authentication procedure. In all cases, the submission of the official translation must also be accompanied by presentation of the original document.

Translations to Spanish may be completed by:

  • A sworn translator, duly authorized in Spain.
  • The Language Interpretation Office at the Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation.
  • UNESCO, office of the Centro Iberoamericano de Cooperación, or any other organization recognized by Spain.
  • Spanish diplomatic or consular representation abroad.
  • Diplomatic representation in Spain by the country the applicant is a subject of, or, where applicable, that of the document’s country of origin.


1.Paying the equivalency fee

The Generalitat Valenciana, in the exercise of its responsibilities, has set a fee for studying the equivalency of foreign university degrees that afford access to master’s and doctoral level education. This means that the evaluation fee for applications from students who possess foreign university degrees, excluding those from within the European Higher Education Area, must be paid before such evaluation is completed, and at the time that the interested student completes the pre-registration. The fee established by the publication of the Decree for the 2018-2019 academic year is 155.22 euros.


Then, select

Tipo: Tasas por Servicios de Gestión General

Subtipo: Estudio equival. Títulos extranj. Acceso a Máster o Doctorado titulad. extranj. sin título homologado

Calculation of the grade point average of university education completed abroad: